Skip to main content

Core Management Team

Professor Ian Wilkinson
Director

Professor Ian Wilkinson

Prof Wilkinson is Director of the CCTU, Honorary Consultant Physician at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, WE Parkes British Heart Foundation Senior Fellow, fellow of the British Hypertension Society, fellow of the British Pharmacological society and fellow of the American Heart Association. He is also Professor of Therapeutics, Staff Fellow in Clinical Medicine, Director of the Office of Translational Research and Head of the Experimental Medicine and Immunotherapeutics (EMIT) group at the University of Cambridge. His research focuses on understanding the biological pathways underlying systemic hypertension and arteriosclerosis, with a strong emphasis on basic physiology, experimental/translational medicine and early phase interventional clinical trials.

Louise Stockley
Operations Director

Louise Stockley

Louise Stockley is the Operations Director of the CCTU. She directs the strategic research operations and administrative functions of the unit. She holds overall responsibility for ensuring that the CCTU portfolio of interventional and observational trials are well managed and demonstrate good value, innovation and excellence in health research.

Dr Thomas Hiemstra
University Lecturer / Trials Methodologist

Dr Thomas Hiemstra

Dr Hiemstra is a Lecturer in Clinical Trials at the University of Cambridge and an Honorary Consultant Nephrologist at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. He leads a portfolio of trials and cohort studies in renal medicine and related specialties and consults with prospective chief investigators as trials methodologist. Dr Hiemstra directs the Patient Led Research Hub, chairs the UK Kidney Research Consortium Clinical Trials Network (UKRTN), is chair-elect of the International Clinical Trials Centre Network (ICN), and deputy chair of the International Society of Nephrology Advancing Clinical Trials (ISN-ACT).

Dr Simon Bond
Lead Senior Statistician

Dr Simon Bond

Dr Bond is the Lead Senior Statistician at the CCTU. He leads the statistics department of the unit in the development and delivery of statistical services and maintains his own research portfolio of developments in statistical methodology. Dr Bond leads the Early Phase Clinical Trials Group within the NIHR statistics group, and leads an NIHR efficiency project that provides software tools to aid the reporting of safety data into EudraCT. He is a Chartered Statistician within the Royal Statistical Society and is an Associate Lecturer at the University of Cambridge.

Carrie Bayliss
Regulatory and Quality Manager

Carrie Bayliss

Carrie Bayliss is the Regulatory and Quality Manager of the CCTU. She has overall management responsibility for the Regulatory Team which undertakes Sponsor delegated functions for all clinical trials of investigational medicinal products, ensuring they are set up, conducted and completed in compliance with all local and national regulations and guidelines.

Dr Paula Kareclas
Clinical Trials Manager

Dr Paula Kareclas

Dr Kareclas is the Clinical Trials Manager of the CCTU Core Theme and has overall  management responsibility for a team of trial coordinators and data managers. She ensures that all clinical research projects managed by the Core Theme are set-up, ran and closed down in accordance with all Sponsor, funder and regulatory requirements.

Dr Rona Smith
Expert Advisor/ Senior Clinical Trials Fellow

Dr Rona Smith

Dr Smith is an Expert Advisor and Senior Clinical Trials Fellow at the CCTU and a Consultant Nephrologist at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. She is a Staff Fellow at Trinity College as well as a Clinical Lecturer in nephrology and experimental medicine at Cambridge University. Dr Smith leads a portfolio of trials in renal medicine and autoimmune diseases and consults as trials methodologist.

Alfred Larbi
Clinical Trials Grants Officer

Alfred Larbi

Alfred Larbi is the Clinical Trials Grants Officer at the CCTU. He provides methodological advice and support to researchers developing clinical research proposals, focused on a broad spectrum of treatment areas. He also supports the strategic operations and administrative functions of the unit.

General Contacts

Name Job title Telephone Email address
Carolyn Sexton QA Manager 01223 274570 carolyn.sexton@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Kaelie Oldfield CCTU Administrator 01223 596474 kaelie.oldfield@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Laura Cowley PLRH Manager 01223 274570 lbm28@medschl.cam.ac.uk
Dr Carole Turner Surgical and Peri-operative Care Theme Manager 01223 217205 clt29@medschl.cam.ac.uk
Francis Dowling Core Theme Senior Clinical Trials Coordinator 01223 254666 francis.dowling@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Dr Katrina Gatley Core Theme Senior Clinical Trials Coordinator 01223 216740 katrina.gatley@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Heike Templin Cardiovascular Theme Senior Clinical Trials Coordinator 01223 250874 heike.templin@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Dr Maria King Vasculitis Theme Senior Clinical Trials Coordinator 01223 596441 maria.king@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Anne-Laure Vallier Cancer Theme Team Lead 01223 348086 anne-laure.vallier@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Dr Wendi Qian Senior Statistician 01223 256363 wendi.qian@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Noah Fullah Core Theme Senior Data Manager 01223 274539 noah.fullah@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Dr Iryna Fastovets Senior Pharmacovigilance Officer 01223 348955 iryna.fastovets@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Pamela Whittaker Senior Clinical Trials Monitor 01223 349759 pamela.whittaker@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Paul Jones Senior Database Programmer 01223 274896 paul.jones@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

View all contacts